post weekend post

So, the weekend was a busy one.

The Ag Show side:

Although initially there for the range of lectures, I did spend. A lot. Between the lectures on Friday, I went walking around the show and talking to a few different suppliers, consultants and vendors of all things great and sundry. This resulted in the purchase of new equipment (including a Knockabout 6 IN 1 Fencing Tool; a Fenceline Spring-Grip Wire Strainer; and an Australian made (!!) solar powered automatic gate opener) a truffle inoculated English oak sapling, some hazelnut saplings (to surround said oak) but unfortunately the pear tree perched partridge chicks were sold out by the time I got over to the poultry sheds.

The lecture series initially left me feeling disheartened. All of the topics were areas I was genuinely interested in … but they failed to offer me anything new! So I felt like I had squandered my day, that somehow I was cheated out of learning new things, that these experts had short-changed me … Until I realised that, actually, I should be happy that I experienced this day. Really, what it means is I need to have confidence in my knowledge and take ownership of it and translate it to actions. Some might say there is a parable in that for my daily working life too.

I explored a range of tractors across the fields and started analysing them like an Business analysis by determining my needs and seeking solutions that best meet the requirements. Having found a few, I then introduced the additional reality check box (cost) to reduce the options and request a full proposal for a shiny red tractor and the appropriate implements to meet my specific requirements which I expect will turn up this week. After which, I expect a lie down, an aspirin with scotch chaser may be in order to recover from the shock and then off looking at financing deals to see how I can afford it … because frankly my boots have no more loose change left in them, and I don’t see magical lotto fairies in my future.

My Ag property side:

I hadn’t been on the farm in a week, so thought I’d better go and see if it was still there. So on Sunday afternoon, after working my shift at the Landcare Stand at the Seymour Expo, we drove down to see how tall the grass had grown without cattle on it for nigh on a month.

The front paddock was surprisingly short.

Well, it wasn’t surprising when we found both a small mob of goats, and 20 head of Angus on the place.

Starting with the goats, we herded them down and around to an area of the southern fence line where the neighbours sheep have breached a few times in the past – and sure enough, there was a section where the fence had been shunted. The goats took no pause and went straight under and across, and we collected stones and repaired wires to seal the gap.

But, now, we still had 20 Angus to deal with. Where did they come from? Checking the Northern fence line showed no obvious breaches, and the cattle on the adjoining properties seemed to have differing ear tags. So, nothing for it, we made our way to each of the neighbours to introduce ourselves and ask the question, “is this your cow?” Long story short, after due diligence, it became quite obvious that these cattle were most likely the property of the previous holder of the agistment contract. Indeed, after going around to his place, we find they are indeed his but he claims they “must have wandered over from next door”. Without boring you with the tediousness of lies, damned lies and excuses, we have had to get the police and shire involved in a case of outright animal trespass and it’s become a drama that I could have done without in my life, but some people really do think they can just pull one over and will do their darndest to at least try.

Monday arrives and it’s back to work:

Whilst no title changes, organisational structures or any of the other magic has not occurred, I started with my new 100% focus, responsibilities and tasks centred around the Capability Management role. Not just the resource management for the hundred-odd (and some very, very odd) Solution Architects, Designers, and Engineers across Australia but also tasks involved around reporting, analytics and global workload management have been initiated. There are some new (and possibly even exciting) areas evolving over the next few months but you know, secret squirrels and death threats and other somesuch notices of hush-hushness are involved. So details as they are available for limited release or otherwise public consumption

So, for now I leave you with a joke that was given to me by Lynne, a biodynamic farming consultant I met on the weekend:

 What do women and cow patties have in common?

The older they are, the easier they are to pick up.

Yeah, I know … I’ll report myself in for Political correctness training with HR.

Leave a Reply

